In the news 100, 50 and 25 years ago
April 24, 1915
During excavations at the corner of Regent Street and Church Street, on the site of the old house for many years the offices of Messrs Wratislaw & Thompson, solicitors and of Messrs Cropper, Steward & Cattell, a very interesting relic of bygone Rugby was discovered. It is an earthenware pitcher or jug of a yellowish brown colour. It is 12ins in height. A drawing and written description has been submitted to the British Museum, who inform that the jug is of an ordinary type of mediaeval ware, made in the 14th century or thereabouts.
April 23, 1965
‘Not so good as the usual Easter’ was in the main the opinion of Rugby coach proprietors and British Rail officials after the worst Easter holiday weather for years. The only special excursion from Rugby Midland Station on Sunday was to Brighton, which 30 people boarded. Coach companies reported some late cancellations due to the weather, but those who persevered found weather to enjoy at Southsea. One of the most popular trips was to London Airport, where there is always something to do, whatever the weather.
April 19, 1990
Rugby’s biggest single planning application for both commercial and housing development in a 430 acre site is all set to be made by a consortium of three companies. ‘The development site between the end of the Brownsover housing and the M6, to be named Coton Park, will be attractive to companies seeking a European base in a unique working and living environment,’ the planning submission says.