In the news 100, 50 and 25 years ago
June 24, 1916
Mr T Wilson gave a further talk on Old Rugby, referring to the disappearance of ancient landmarks such as the Old Whitehall, the Pound, the Stocks and the Rope Walk. He also exhibited two unique views of the remains of the Moat which once surrounded Rokeby Castle.
l While working on his allotment on Overslade Hill recently, Mr H Tarbox unearthed a coin which has since been recognised as an Edward III silver groat of the then value 1s 6d. The coin, which is in good condition, is about 550 years old.
June 24, 1966
Investors at the 68 post offices in the Rugby postal district will next month be able to avail themselves of a new investment account service, with an initial 5 1/2 per cent rate of interest. An investment account may be opened by anyone who has at least £50 in an ordinary post office savings account - the overall limit is £5,000. Money deposited in these accounts will be fully guaranteed by the state and repayable on one month’s notice.
June 20, 1991
Rugby is fending off threats to the district’s maternity services with a message that ‘small is beautiful’. Health chiefs say there is no chance of the town’s maternity unit closing down. A regional advisory committee is saying that Rugby is too small for some specialist services but agrees most mothers should still give birth in Rugby. It recommends the closure of consultancy services and back-up facilities within the maternity unit at the Hospital of St Cross.