BOWLS: By Alan Jackson

editorial image
Have your say

Outdoors v Indoors!

The outdoors leg of the Bob Taylor Memorial Shield, the set of fixtures between Warwickshire Indoors and Warwickshire Outdoors, took place at Snitterfield BC. A poor display in the first leg meant that the Indoors held a 43 shot advantage but by the end of the day it was the Outdoors that claimed the shield with a five rink 156-88 victory.

Gary Tubb skipped Earl Tubb, County Secretary Arnold Goad and Simon Rogers to an excellent start, reaching the midway point 16-1 up. Five ends later and the advantage had edged up to sixteen. While the Indoor doubled their tally in the remaining six ends they couldn’t stop Tubb & co completing a 27-9 win. Senior Vice President Graham O’Donohue, Barry Thorpe, Dick Allibon and Neil Brereton held a four shot advantage after ten ends. With three ends left the Outdoors led 23-12 and added four unanswered shots to finish winners on 27-12.

Keith Bratt, Pete Sinclair, Dennis Goddard and Greg Sampson also started well, converting a fifth end 8-2 scoreline into 20-10 with fifteen played. Sampson and co outscored their opponents two shots to one in the remaining ends to seal a 29-15 victory. Will Meacham, Bryan Wooding, Paul and Steve Taylor were one shot adrift after ten ends but fired off twelve unanswered shots to lead 21-10 with six ends to play. A fairly level finish saw Taylor’s rink wrap up a 26-14 win for the Outdoors.

A poor start saw Richard Freeston, County Treasurer Michael Jackson, Greville Reader and Peter Parker trailing 12-9 at the midway point. A blazing five end spell saw the Outdoors take the lead and they built upon it to clinch the fifth rink win with a 30-19 scoreline. Mario Rosso, Peter Oxford, George Smith and Arthur Stretton looking to be making it a clean sweep for the Outdoors as they led 14-4 after ten ends. With three ends left to play Parker and co still led, 17-13, but the Indoors scored six unanswered shots to steal a 19-17 win and prevent the whitewash.

* The final Presidential game of President Mike Brayne’s reign saw Warwickshire register a six rink 153-81 win over the Warwickshire Vice Presidents at Royal Leamington Spa BC.

Rink scores in playing order:

Ken Tredgold, County President Mike Brayne, George Smith & Keith Hornsby 25-17; David Harrison, George Fox, Steve Willey & Junior Vice President Brian Mace Humphreys 22-16; Colin Baldwin, County Treasurer Michael Jackson, Richard Ashley & Pete Harwood 26-9; Senior Vice President Graham O’Donohue, County Secretary Arnold Goad, Ron Walmsley & Ron Vizard 21-17; Bala Maniam, Peter Oxford, Arthur Stretton & Peter Parker 23-12; Mario Rosso, Brian Lindley, Bob Hope & Dick Williams 36-10;