GOLF: Rugby Golf Club

Centenary Plate and Ladies’ annual four ball better ball

It was Centenary Trophy time for the men at Rugby Golf Club at the weekend. Saturday saw 62 men start round one of the medal competition with Joulan Greenhalgh setting the pace with a net 58. The top 12 of round one then ventured back out for round two on the Sunday with the rest of the field competing in the Centenary Plate stableford competition.

Joulan’s good form did not carry through to Sunday and John Amer, having had a net 67 the previous day, shot a 5 under net 63 to give him the winning spot with a total 130. Chris Abbott took second place with rounds of 62 and 69, and in third was Vincent Ogg with 68 and 64.

The centenary plate was won by Adrian Stock with 40 points, second and third place had to be decided on count back with both Robbie Winkle and Keith Partridge scoring 39 points and finishing in that order.

Ann Page triumphed in the Miss Size Vase last week which is the competition for the 21 to 36 handicappers of the Ladies section at Rugby Golf Club. Her score of a net 71 just pipped Sheila Wragg and Maureen Gough who both scored a net 72.

Rugby Golf Club ladies hosted their annual four ball better ball open last week which was won by Susan Chambers from Rugby and Kath Coleman from Whitelfields scoring 41 points on a countback on the back 6 from Sue Jones from Rugby and Di McCormick from Nuneaton. Third place was Joan Woodward and Linda Long both from Rugby, with 40 points, and fourth place was Sheila Wragg from Rugby and Carol Scoggins from Staverton just one point behind. The best front and back nine prizes were won by Maureen Gough and Carol O’Neil (23 points) and Linda Ollivant and Glen Brazier (19 points) respectively. Nearest the pin was won by Lorna Morris from Kilworth Springs and nearest the line was won by Sandra Brazier.

Rugby hosted Stoneleigh in week 10 of the mid Warwickshire league and wins by Dale Marson, Chris Abbott, Matt Bell and Brian McGovern secured a 4-2 victory for the home side.

The ladies EWGA Saturday medal was won by Krystyna Lewandowski with a net 73 and in second was Sheila Wragg with a net 76 and the men’s June medal was won by David Bailey with a net 57, second was Dick McPhillips with a net 62 and Lee Gautrey in third with a net 63.