Medal success for teams

No Caption ABCDE
No Caption ABCDE
Have your say

This year the annual Warwickshire Junior Team Tournament was held at the Rugby College Sports Centre, attended by teams from Rugby, Coventry and Stratford. The event was organised by the Rugby Youth Badminton Squad and sponsored by the Rugby District Badminton Association.

Seven teams entered the round robin competition in U13 and U17 groups. Each match comprised two boys’ singles, two girls’ singles, two boy’s doubles, two girl’s doubles and two mixed doubles.

No Caption ABCDE

No Caption ABCDE

County squad players were excluded with the exception of U11. In the U17 group, competitors played best of 3 games.

The two Rugby teams rounded off a successful 2011/12 season, retaining the U17 trophy and with bronze medals for the U13 group.

The U17 team gave fine all-round performance, winning 35 games for the loss of only 8. Murray Irving, Becky Francis and Kiren Kooner were unbeaten in both singles and doubles. Carum Kooner and Sravya Datla won all their doubles games, and Rob Fletcher, Ben Kimberley and Louise Holloway won eight games between them.

The U13s also played well and fought hard for every point. They narrowly lost one match to a Coventry team, but won their final match 7-3 to take bronze. Rajen Chaudhari and Luke Francis each won one singles and one doubles game against strong opposition. Emily Naylor and Catie Taylor each won 2 of their 3 singles plus 2 out of 3 doubles as partners. Ollie Fricker, Daniel Watkin, Anna Farren and Ella Daniels played doubles and mixed, winning eight games. All the players had a vote for ‘player of the tournament’ and Emily Naylor won the prize for U13. This prize recognised those who played with skill, but were also enthusiastic, tried hard and played fair.

Trophies and medals were presented by Mark Hope, chairman of the Rugby District Badminton Association.

Coaching starts again in September. For more details visit , email or contact John on (024) 76 543268.