Long service awards for Warwickshire Police officers and staff

editorial image

Warwickshire’s chief constable Andy Parker is to present 20 officers and members of staff with long service and good conduct medals tonight (Wednesday).

Most will be presented at the Chief Constable’s awards ceremony in Kenilworth tonight, when a number of commendations will also be given along with awards to members of the public.

Recipients of the long service and good conduct medals include DI Liam Barry, Sgt Bob Shaw, Insp Jason Downes, DC Matt Jones, DC Neil Williamson, Sharon Hilton, Nicola Harris, Sgt Alison Wiggin, DC Andrew Haighway, DC Sharon Dunham, PC Charnjit Dhinsa and DS Stuart Hinton.

The Police Long Service and Good Conduct Medal was instituted under royal warrant by King George VI in 1951 as a mark of appreciation for long and meritorious service by members of police forces.

For an officer to be eligible the Chief Constable must make a recommendation to the Home Secretary and certify that the officer has served for 20 years with honourable conduct and character.