Don’t miss your borough vote in New Bilton this week

editorial image

THE public in New Bilton will choose who will represent them on Rugby Borough Council next week.

There are seven candidates for the borough council spot after Labour’s Rob McNally stepped down from the seat after moving away from the area for work reasons. The vote takes place at polling stations across New Bilton on November 15.

Candidates are standing for the Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts, Labour, the Conservatives, the United Kingdom Independence Party, the Liberal Democrats an the Green Part.

There is also one independent candidate.

Parties have been delivering leaflets, knocking on doors, running stalls and talking to potential voters.

The borough council is currently controlled by the Conservative group.

It comprises 25 Conservatives, nine Labour representatives, six Liberal Democrats and one Independent.

On November 15 voters will also elect Warwickshire’s Police and Crime Commissioner.

The borough council is responsible for services including rubbish collection, planning, street cleaning, environmental health and housing.

The full list of candidates for the New Bilton by-election is as follows:

Steve Birkett, Labour Party

Katie Ferrier, Conservative Party

Roy Harvey, UK Independence Party

Pete Mclaren, Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

David Merritt, Liberal Democrat

Roy Sandison, Green Party,

Patricia Wyatt independent candidate.

For more information on the election, and for details of polling stations, call (01788) 533595 or visit