New Warwickshire County Council chairman announced

MICHAEL Doody has taken over the role as chairman of Warwickshire County Council.

Cllr Doody, vice-chairman during Cllr Phillip Morris-Jones’ tenure, has been a county councillor for the Cubbington division since 2005 and add a previous term from 1997 to 2001 representing Harbury and will carry out the duties of chairman which include chairing meetings of the full county council and being the county’s representative at civic events for the ensuing municipal year.

Cllr Doody also represents Warwickshire County Council on the Warwickshire Waste Management Partnership and the Warwick Local Strategic Partnership among other roles.

His predecessor, Cllr Phillip Morris-Jones, who is from the Rugby district, has stepped down from the role after completing his year’s tenure.

Cllr Doody said: “I look forward to taking over from Cllr Morris-Jones who has served the council as chairman with the same commitment and dedication that he has shown since he became a councillor.

“I look forward to chairing meetings over the course of the next year and ensuring that an environment that is conducive to debates is maintained.”

Councillor Alan Farnell, leader of the county council,

said: “Councillor Morris-Jones has had a distinguished year as chairman and has always represented the county skilfully. He hands over the reins to a very worthy successor in Councillor Doody who will bring his vast experience and knowledge to the role.”

Councillor Dave Shilton, the elected member for Kenilworth since 2001, and Chair of Warwick District Council, takes up the role of vice-chairman.