Council elections: All the candidates in Rugby borough

editorial image

The forthcoming general election in June might be dominating the news, but residents in Rugby borough have a chance to cast their votes earlier for elections much closer to home.

The Warwickshire County Council elections are taking place tomorrow (Thursday, May 4) to find councillors for the 2017-2021 period, together with two by-elections for Rugby Borough Council.

All county seats are up for election, including 10 in Rugby borough. After a change in boundaries, there will be 57 members of the new county council, down from 62.

We have listed below all the candidates standing in the Rugby divisions. To read the political parties’ manifestos summed up, click here.

The two Rugby Borough Council elections take place in the Coton and Boughton ward – and the New Bilton ward.

They have come about because of recent resignations which created a vacancy for a councillor in each ward.

The candidates in the ten new county council divisions for Rugby Borough are:

Admirals & Cawston

BARRETT Judith Helen (Green)

BUTLIN Peter James (Con)

CHASE Lee Martin (Lib Dem)


MISTRY Ian (Lab)


BLISS Graham William (Green)

HULL Charlie (Con)

TRIMBLE Hugh Dunlop (Lib Dem)

WAKELIN Marian Elizabeth Ellen (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition)

WEBB Alan Charles (Lab)

Bilton & Hillside

AVIS Howard Mark (Lab)

CROWLEY Kate (Green)

KAUR Kam (Con)

NEW Noreen Coral Marion (Lib Dem)

Brownsover & Coton Park

PERRIER Jerome Vincent (Lib Dem)

REYNOLDS Peter Stephen (Green)

SIMPSON-VINCE Jill Beverley (Con)

WEBB Mary Jean (Lab)

Dunsmore & Leam Valley

HARRISON James Nicholas (Green)

HUGHES Bob (Lab)

ROBERTS Howard David (Con)

SLINN Laura Jane (Lib Dem)

Earl Craven

BIRCH John Edward (UKIP)

PRIOR Scott (Lab)

ROCK Felicity Imogen (Green)

TIMMS Heather Mary (Con)


MEESON Tony (Con)

RODERICK Ellie (Green)

ROODHOUSE Jerry (Lib Dem)

WESTON Matt (Lab)


BROWN Kieren Richard George (Lab)

TRIMBLE Trisha (Lib Dem)

WARWICK Adrian David (Con)

WISEMAN Peggy (Green)


DAHMASH Yousef (Con)

ELLIS Jim (Lab)

MACHIN Julie-Ann (Green)

MCQUEEN Craig John William (Lib Dem)

New Bilton

LAST Sara Elizabeth (Con)

O’ROURKE Maggie (Lab)

SANDISON Neil James (Lib Dem)

SANDISON Roy Leonard (Green)

WEEKES Julie Dawn (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition)

The candidates standing in Coton and Boughton and New Bilton are as follows:

Coton and Boughton

LOWE Sebastian (Con)

PERRIER Jerome (Lib Dem)

REYNOLDS Peter (Green)

WEBB Alan (Labour)

New Bilton

BRADER Mike (Labour)

FEENEY Zoe (Con)

SANDISON Roy (Green)

TAFAZZAL Hossain (Lib Dem)

Everything you need to know about council elections in Rugby