Rugby's local election - the results as we get them

The Advertiser is at the Benn Hall bringing you the local election results as we get them.

Friday, 4th May 2018, 1:22 am
Updated Thursday, 7th June 2018, 5:36 pm
The votes are counted in the Benn Hall.

Remember to keep refreshing this page to see the latest updates.


The overall turnout for this year's local election was 34%.

Here are the individual results:

Admirals and Cawston

Turnout - 32%

Conservative win.

Newbold and Brownsover

Turnout - 24%

Labour win.


Turnout- 27%

Labour win.

Wolvey and Shilton

Turnout - 37%

Conservative win.


Turnout - 42%

Conservative win.


Turnout - 39%

Conservative victory.

The Conservative Deepah Roberts held on to his seat with 1,775 votes.

Labour's Beck Hemsley: 547


Turnout - 42%

Conservative win.


Turnout - 41%

Lib Dem win.


Turnout - 33%

Lib Dem win.

Coton and Boughton

Turnout - 27%

Conservative win.

New Bilton

Turnout - 26%

Wolston and The Lawfords

Turnout - 34%

Conservative win.

Wolston Parish Council

Turnout - 38%

Revel and Binley Woods

Turnout - 42%

Conservative win.

Rokeby and Overslade

Turnout - 40%

Liberal Democrats hold their seat.

Labour's Ian Charles Black: 512

Green Party's Kate Crowley: 80

Lib Dems' Bill Lewis: 1,265

Conservative Party's Paul Gerald Wesson: 552.

The election in brief:

Up until this election, the Conservatives led the council with 23 of the 42 seats, while Labour had nine councillors and the Liberal Democrats eight.

Because Rugby council uses the 'thirds' system of election, fourteen of the council’s seats in 14 wards will be up for election on May 3.

Of the seats up for election, seven are Conservative, three are Labour, two are Liberal Dem and two are held by independents.

The 'thirds' system means once a year for three years running a third of the council’s seats are opened to election. On the fourth year there is a break while the county council has its elections.

Warwickshire County Council's most recent election was last year, so 2018 is the beginning of the new three-year election cycle for Rugby Council.

Click here for a summary of the key policies of each party.