Some Rugby schools dropped as polling stations to reduce disruption for parents and pupils

Some of Rugby's polling stations have changed
Some of Rugby's polling stations have changed

Some of the borough’s schools will no longer be used as polling stations during elections in order to reduce disruption to children and parents.

Rugby Borough Council has confirmed a number of replacement locations for voters to attend.

The changes have been brought in to minimise disruption to education as many schools have to close in order for voting to take place.

The council had already reduced the number of schools taking part from 18 to 12 but further reductions means fewer parents will need to make alternative childcare arrangements on polling day.

Cllr Helen Taylor, Rugby Borough Council portfolio holder for resources and corporate governance, said: “This latest review has allowed us to further reduce the number of schools we use as polling stations and at next May’s council elections only four schools will be used, with only one closing on polling day. We will continue to explore alternative locations for polling stations in order to both meet the needs of voters and minimise the impact of schools closing on polling day.”

Changes to polling stations:

> Admirals & Cawston Ward

Current: Cawston Grange Primary School, Scholars Drive, and Henry Hinde Infant School, Grenville Close.

Replaced by: Cawston Grange Community Hall in Scholars Drive, and 11th Rugby (Admirals) Scout hut, Cornwallis Road.

> Coton & Boughton Ward

Current: Brownsover Community School, Webb Drive, and Christ Church, Helvellyn Way.

Replaced by: Learn Warwickshire Hub at Central Park and 12th Rugby Scout Hut, Boughton Leigh School site. Christ Church, Helvellyn Way will remain.

> Dunsmore Ward

Will continue to use Our Lady’s Catholic School.

> Eastlands Ward

Will continue to use Rugby West Indian Club in St Peter’s Road.

> Hillmorton Ward

Current: Hillmorton Primary School, Watts Lane.

Will continue to use school as well as The Stag & Pheasant pub in School Street.

> New Bilton Ward

Current: Oakfield Primary School, Oakfield Road, and St Matthew’s Bloxam C of E Primary School, Webb Ellis Road.

Replaced by: Rugby Lions RFC Clubhouse, Webb Ellis Road.

> Newbold & Brownsover Ward

It will follow Coton & Boughton Ward plans.

> Paddox Ward

Current: Abbots Farm Junior School, Abbotts Way, and Paddox Primary School, Fareham Avenue, and St George’s Church Hall, St John’s Avenue.

Replaced by: Jolly Abbot pub, Lower Hillmorton Road and St Andrews RFC Clubhouse, Ashlawn Road. Continue to use St George’s Church Hall.

> Revel & Binley Woods Ward

Will continue to use Early Birds Nursery, Main Street, Harborough Magna.

> Rokeby & Overslade Ward

Will continue to use The Community Room, Rokeby Primary School.

> Wolston & The Lawfords Wards

Current: Long Lawford Primary School, Holbrook Road.

Replaced by: Community Centre, Rounds Close, and Methodist Church, School Street.