Stagecoach reveals full extent of bus changes in Rugby

There was great upset recently when it was revealed that Stagecoach planned to make alterations to the number 12 bus service between Daventry and Rugby.

Thursday, 2nd June 2016, 11:31 am
Updated Thursday, 2nd June 2016, 12:32 pm
A Stagecoach bus at DIRFT.

And now the company has revealed a number of other changes are due to come into force over the coming months.

The services affected by these changes are as follows:

Service 10: Central Park - Rugby Town Centre - DIRFT - Middlemoor - Daventry

Minor timetable changes to route 10, with buses being extended beyond Daventry Bus Station to Monksmoor with section 106 developer funding. The service will temporarily stop at Welton Road at the Monksmoor junction until the estate spine road is complete.

Service 12: Central Park - Rugby Town Centre - Dunchurch - Braunston - Middlemoor - Daventry

The route has been revised between Braunston and Rugby Town Centre to run via Kilsby, DIRFT and Hillmorton. This provides new links from Braunston to DIRFT and Ashlawn School and improves the frequency of services running between Daventry, Middlemoor and DIRFT from hourly to every 30 minutes. As with route 10, service 12 will also continue beyond Daventry bus station to serve the new Monksmoor estate.

Route 13: Braunston - Onley - Rokeby Estate - Rugby Town Centre

New route 13 will offer a shopping/prison visiting facility between Willoughby and Rugby town centre via Onley Park and Rokeby Estate. The 1pm departure from Rugby railway station provides a bus which coincides with visiting times at Onley Park, with a return journey from Onley back to Rugby Station at 3pm.

Service 9: Newton / Clifton - Rugby Town Centre

The service has been extended from Rugby town centre to Rokeby partly replacing the section of route 12 between Rugby - Dunchurch. From Rugby town centre buses will run to Rokeby via Dunchurch Road, running into Hillside Estate via Chaucer Road, and continuing in an anti-clockwise loop via Norton Leys, Fawsley Leys, Long Furlong and Charlesfield Road before rejoining Dunchurch Road and heading back towards Rugby town centre and Clifton.

Service 86: Overslade - Rugby Town Centre - Long Lawford - Binley Wood - Coventry - Kenilworth

The 86 service will now only run between Overslade, Rugby Town Centre, Long Lawford, Binley Wood and Coventry. The section of route between Coventry city centre and Kenilworth will be partly replaced by new service X68. Certain little used early morning and late evening journeys have been withdrawn on Saturdays.

Service 8: Bilton - Rugby Town Centre - Elliots Field - Brownsover - Central Park Drive - Magna Park

This new service will run Monday to Saturday between Rugby town centre and Magna Park via Elliots Field, Brownsover and Central Park Drive. There will be two early morning journeys starting from Bilton and two late evening journeys finishing in Bilton.

Stagecoach said the changes to route 12 will see a 33 per cent rise in the number of buses between Rugby and DIRFT and will help more employees there get to work.

Steve Burd, Managing Director of Stagecoach Midlands, said: “We have seen terrific growth in the number of people travelling on our services to DIRFT and we are now stepping up the frequency to give people even more flexibility in getting to and from work.”