Warwickshire County Council chairman announced

editorial image

PAILTON councillor Phillip Morris-Jones has taken over the reins as chairman of Warwickshire County Council.

Cllr Morris-Jones, former vice-chairman, has been a county councillor for the Fosse division since 1989 and will carry out the duties of chairman which include chairing meetings of the full county council and being the county’s representative at civic events for the ensuing municipal year.

Cllr Morris-Jones also represents Warwickshire County Council on the Rugby Local Strategic Partnership and Warwickshire Police Authority and is a member of various committees within the council.

His predecessor, Cllr Jose Compton, has stepped down from the role after completing her year’s tenure.

Cllr Morris-Jones said: “I look forward to taking over from Cllr Compton who has served the council as chairman with the same commitment and dedication that she has shown over the last decade since she became a councillor.

“Council meetings have been extremely lively over the last twelve months and I anticipate more of the same during my year of office. Whilst I will encourage members to have a passion for what they are doing, I will ensure that the best possible environment for debate is maintained at all times.”

Councillor Alan Farnell, leader of the county council, said: “Cllr Compton has had a distinguished year as chairman and has always represented the county skilfully and with grace and dignity. She hands over the reins to a very worthy successor in Councillor Morris-Jones who will bring his vast experience and knowledge to the role.”

Cllr Mike Doody, the elected member for Cubbington since 2005, and leader of Warwick District Council, takes up the role of vice-chairman. His other roles at the county council include representing the county council on the Warwick Local Strategic Partnership and the Warwickshire Waste Partnership.