BOWLS: Rugby Bowling Club presentations

New county president presents trophies

Wednesday, 30th November 2016, 5:32 am
Updated Tuesday, 6th December 2016, 11:42 am
Club champion Keith Mason and Warwickshire president Graham O'Donohue

Warwickshire County Bowls Association President, Graham O’Donohue, and his wife, Geraldine, were the guests of honour at Rugby Bowling Club’s annual dinner and presentation of prizes at their Bilton Road clubhouse.

Previously president in 2014, Graham was elected for the 2017 season earlier that day at the County’s Annual General Meeting at Highway Bowling Club, Coventry. Master of Ceremonies, Mick Lill, welcomed all the guests.

Club president, Adrian Johnston, congratulated Graham on his appointment.

Club members fared well in the Rugby Bowling Association and County competitions during the 2016 season. Trustee and former club president, Martyn Murley, presented the RBA trophies.

Coronation Cup pairs winners were Tom Wells and Calvin Wells and the runners-up were Liam Pearcey and Craig Carter.

The Finch Cup was presented to club vice-captain Nigel Townsend on behalf of the team who were Ewan Mason, Jordan Wells, Nigel Carter, Darren Wells, Trevor Wells, Mick Gill, Graham Dales, Roger Smith, Nigel Hewitson, Nigel Townsend and Bill Yates.

County president Graham presented the Birmingham Post County Triples Trophy to Nigel Carter, Brian Boardman and Craig Carter. Runners-up in the Bluemell Pairs Cup were Craig Carter and Tom Millership. Tom Wells, Matt Wells, Craig Carter and Calvin Wells were runners-up in the Fennel Fours Cup.

President Graham presented the club trophies to: Championship winner Keith Mason, runner-up Darren Ward; Handicap winner, Nigel Hewitson, runner-up Keith Mason; pairs winners were M. Gill and John Codling, runners-up Ewan Mason and Nigel Hewitson; 2-woods winner Nigel Hewitson, runner-up Darren Ward; Wardrop Cup winner Keith Mason, runner-up Roger Smith; Turnell Cup winner Nigel Hewitson, runner-up Stan Tailby; Litchfield Cup winner Tom Wells, runner-up Don Moses.

The ‘Clubman of the Year’ salver was presented to club secretary Sue Moses and the most improved player was Mick Gill.

Club president Adrian Johnston accepted the Bowls England Family Pairs runners-up trophy on behalf of Geoff and Tom Millership who were unable to be present due to a family commitment.

The Bowls England National Top Club competition attracted entries from clubs in 35 counties. Rugby club’s team reached the semi-final and were narrowly defeated by Kings BC Devon, the eventual winners.

The club presented mementoes to Brian Boardman, Craig Carter, Nigel Carter, Adrian Johnston, Keith Mason, Geoff Millership, Tom Millership, Liam Pearcey, Nigel Townsend, Darren Ward, Calvin Wells, Matt Wells and Trevor Wells.