RUGBY TOWN: Another season in Central divsion

David Kolodynski in action for Rugby Town
David Kolodynski in action for Rugby Town

FA release provisional league line-up for 2014-15

The FA have released their provisional league line-up for the new season with Rugby Town remaining in the Southern League Division 1 Central.

Valley missed out on automatic promotion by a single point to Champions Dunstable Town and for a second year in a row suffered Play-Off heartache at Butlin Road with a defeat to Slough Town in the semi-final.

Despite talk of a the FA having a major shake-up in the non-league pyramid to move teams around geographically, it is more of the same for Rugby who will now have a fifth attempt at gaining promotion back to the Southern League Premier following two successive second-placed finishes.

Chertsey Town and Ashford Town were both relegated at the end of last season with Dunstable Town and Slough Town both moving up the pyramid into the Premier Division.

This quartet have been replaced by four new teams including a couple of familiar faces to the Valley faithful.

Bedford Town have been relegated from the Southern League Premier - The Eagles were regular opponents of Rugby for many years in the Southern League Premier and the sides last met in March 2010.

Also re-joining the league are Godalming Town from Surrey who after finishing third in the Central Division in 2012/13 were transferred to the South & West Division where they struggled last season and finished 18th.

Hanwell Town, near neighbours of North Greenford, are the only newly promoted team having won the South Midlands League last season. Valley have met Hanwell once before in 2006 in a FA Trophy tie.

Also joining the division are a new face to Rugby in Ware from Hertfordshire. They have been transferred from the Isthmian League Division One North where they finished 21st last season.

The listings are still subject to ratification at the annual general meetings of the various competitions.