RUGBY TOWN: Awards night

Manager Dave Stringer congratulates Seb Lake-Gaskin (picture by Martin Pulley)
Manager Dave Stringer congratulates Seb Lake-Gaskin (picture by Martin Pulley)

Striker Seb is star with four major trophies

Seb Lake-Gaskin was the big winner of the night at Rugby Town’s annual presentation awards event last Friday.

The striker scooped four major awards to round off an impressive campaign for the 23 year old, who has now clocked up more than 100 appearances for the club in his three seasons at Butlin Road.

Lake-Gaskin topped the voting in both the players’ and the supporters’ Player of the Year polls, as well as getting the nod from his boss Dave Stringer. He also came out on top in the number of man of the match nominations to scoop the Media Star Man gong too.

However his 28 goals in 2013/14 were not quite enough to earn him the Golden Boot trophy, which went to his strike partner David Kolodynski – with 39 in all competitions.

Kolodynski’s efforts were recognised with the presentation of a special award, after a season which saw him break both Robbie Beard’s Southern League and Danny Conway’s overall senior football club goalscoring records.

Keeper Niall Cooper picked up the Vice Presidents’ Player of the Year award after completing an impressive first season at Town, in which he was an ever-present.

Cooper’s impeccable attendance record saw him share the Bob Giles Memorial Shield with defender Ellis Myles – who also featured in every game this season, becoming another player to break through the 100 Valley appearance mark in the process.

Manager Stringer received the Call-a-Car award which rewards commitment, reliability and dedication after his fourth term at Butlin Road ended in a second successive league runners-up spot and subsequent play-off exit – after two previous seasons where Town just missed out on the end-of-year promotion knock-out competition.

The Carl Barnes Memorial Shield went to skipper Alex Gudger for his strong leadership all season, and the club’s Young Supporter of the Year was 12 year old Louie Stephens – who still regularly attends matches at Butlin Road despite moving away to Northampton recently.

Rugby’s Youth Team Player of the Year awards were also presented on the evening, with Josh Hughes earning the supporters’ trophy after a season of impressive performances between the sticks, Max Proudlock catching the eye of his fellow players, and striker James Weale sealing manager Roy Miller’s award after a prolific goalscoring campaign.

Ahead of the presentation of the silverware, Club Director Mike Yeats had reflected upon another season of both achievement but unfortunately ultimate disappointment, and looked forward to the 2014/15 campaign – when hopefully the target of promotion back up to the third level of the non-league football pyramid can finally be achieved.

He recognised the contributions of a number of club volunteers, including Doug and Veronica Wilkins for their respective Secretary and matchday hospitality duties, Jacquie Leeson and family for the running of the VS Bar and clubhouse, Jean and Digby Berry who provide invaluable funds for the club through the organisation of the weekly car boot sales, and also groundsman Steve Sharp for consistently preparing the excellent Butlin Road surface to such high standards throughout the season.

The support of first team shirt sponsors Revolution Drivers was also acknowledged, as were youth team sponsors Shaw Sheet Metal.

Full list of award winners:

Manager’s Player of the Year: Seb Lake-Gaskin

Vice President’s Player of the Year: Niall Cooper

Golden Boot: David Kolodynski

Players’ Player of the Year: Seb Lake-Gaskin

Call-a-Car Award: Dave Stringer

Kit Dand Memorial Trophy for Supporters’ Player of the Year: Seb Lake-Gaskin (2nd David Kolodynski, 3rd Alex Gudger, 4th Niall Cooper)

Bob Giles Memorial Shield for Most Appearances: Niall Cooper & Ellis Myles

Carl Barnes Memorial Shield: Alex Gudger

Special Achievement Award: David Kolodynski

Media Star Man Award: Seb Lake-Gaskin (joint 2nd David Kolodynski and Alex Gudger)

Young Supporter of the Year: Louie Stephens

Youth Team Players’ Player of the Year: Max Proudlock

Youth Team Manager’s Player of the Year: James Weale

Youth Team Supporters’ Player of the Year: Josh Hughes

Rugby Advertiser 2013/14 Man of the Match nominations:

12 - Seb Lake-Gaskin, 6 – Alex Gudger & David Kolodynski, 5 – Lewis McBride, 4 – Justin Marsden, 3 – Nathan Fox, Jared Cunniff & Sam Youngs, 2 – Niall Cooper, Nathan Haines & Jamie Towers, 1 – Sam Belcher, Richard Blythe, Greg Kaziboni, Craig Kelly, Andrew Spencer & Michael Williams.