BOWLS: By Harry Reynolds

Share this article

As is usual at this time of the year – with the indoor season over and the outdoor game not yet in full swing – there is not a lot going on on the bowls scene at the moment. But that will all change in the next three weeks or so when it will be all systems go with the county’s senior matches and competitions getting under way.

Warwickshire start their Midland Counties league programme at the home venue of Entaco Bowls Club when they line up against Lincolnshire on Saturday, May 14, and a week later take on Northamptonshire. Last season Lincolnshire narrowly missed finishing in the league’s bottom spot while Northamptonshire finished with the same number of points as runners-up Warwickshire but with an inferior shots difference.

Acting team manager Aubrey Brookhouse has appealed for more support at the county’s senior games from fellow bowlers and members of the county’s executive committee. He said that in some of the home games in the past there had been more opposition supporters than home ones.

He added: “I truly believe that with the little bit of luck that every team deserves this could be a memorable season for Warwickshire both in the Midland Counties and more importantly so in the Middleton Cup. Yoor support will be much appreciated by the team, myself, and our president Rob Maries.”

A total of ten local players have been included in the county’s Midland Counties team against Lincolnshire. They are Craig Carter, Graham Ashby, Martyn Murley, Stuart Thomas, Matt Wells, Calvin Wells, Chris Howes, Tom Millership, Alan Apsey (all Rugby) and Liam Pearcey (Grange). The full team is:

Brian Lees (Welford), Jim Freeman (Kings Heath), Mick Hawkins and Martin Timms (both Welford), Liam Pearcey (Grange), Peter Bryan (Entaco), Greg Sampson (Avenue Coventry) and Andy Smith (Avenue Leamington), Martyn Murley, Tom Millership, Stuart Thomas and Alan Apsey (all Rugby).

Rob Robinson (Erdington Court), Chris Barton (Kings Heath), Dan Box (Little Compton) and Graham Ashby (Avenue Coventry). Matt Wells, Chris Howes (both Rugby), Simon Gilbert (Whitnash) and Calvin Wells (Rugby). Craig Carter (Rugby), Steve Taylor (Avenue Coventry), Neil Hancock (Little Compton) and Colin Jacox (Avenue Coventry).

Grange’s Bob Page and Phil Bale and Rugby’s Bob Bradley, Barry Lines and Ray Antill have been selected for Warwickshire’s opening friendly county match versus Middlesex at Stratford B.C., on Tuesday,May 18t. The selected team is:

John Sheperd (Bidford), Alan Seager (West Midlands Police), Trevor Bennett (Stratford) and Rob Maries (President), Tony Smith (Avenue Coventry) Jim Phillips (Bournville), Bob Bradley (Rugby) and John Williams (Executive), Les Ball (Avenue Coventry), Mike Brayne (Junior Vice-President), Tom Gilbert (Ambleside) and Phil Bale (Grange).

Roger Wooton (Avenue Leamington), Bob Page (Grange), Ron Rose (Stratford) and Gareth Willcock (Senior Vice-President), Barry Lines (Rugby), Arnold Goad (Secretary), Dennis Wilkinson (Stoke ) and Terry Castle (Norgren), Alan Kemp (Ambleside), Ray Antill (Rugby), Mike Jackson (Treasurer) and Roy Lawrence (Avenue Coventry).

Local players who have been selected for the county president’s team to play against Warwickshire Women’s Bowls Association at Sherwood Park B.C. on Wednesday, May 18, are Grange’s Brian Mace-Humphries and Bilton’s George Palmer. The full team is A Whitefoot. C. Andrew, P. Dale and R.Maries, J. Ward, J. MacKintosh, I. Brown and A. Brookhouse, P. Wadland, R. Andrews, B. Mace-Humphries and D. Casey (Bournville), D. Powell, A. Goad, W. Mulligan and G. Smith, R. Moore, J. Creff, K. Shuttleworth and R. Parnell, R. Lewis, M. Jackson, G. Palmer and S. Orton.

Warwickshire Vice-Presidents Association began their match programme with their annual Chairman v. Deputy Chairman game which, played at Halford B.C., resulted in a 124-92 for the Chairman’s team. Rink scores (Chairman’s names first) as follows:

Jim Gardner, Eric Heath, Mike Soloman, Mike Gilks 26 Derek Wattison, Mike Brayne, Mike Westell, George Palmer 15, Ron Jackson, Tony Ridpath, Ian Bassnett, Ken Padimore 17 Ted Simmons, Ted Poole, Paul Brown, Gareth Willcock 17, Stewart Barton, Bernard Crowther, Roger Eaton, Dave Thomas 15 James Richard, Rex Fox, Derrick Pratt, Dennis Lee 16,

David Eden, Ken Sloan, Tony Parsons, Keith Francis 25 Peter Shone, Ben Freeman, Graham Taylor, Keith Rawlings 19, Brian Meacham, Jack Hands, Dave Goodman, Dave Longdon 20 Martin Evans, Brian Hunt, John Stewart, George Smith 14 Dave Phillips, Ron Campbell, Richard Wilsdon, Alan Bister 21 Geoff Hawlin, Ray Padbury, Bill Fox, Morris Clayton 11