BOWLS: Festive fun

The winning team
The winning team
Share this article

Christmas tournaments at Thornfield

Rugby Thornfield Indoor Bowling Club

Christmas Tournament 2012

Some 17 teams took part in the annual Christmas bowls tournament held at Rugby Thornfield Indoor Bowling Club during the Christas break.

This year’s event was held in aid of charity for children without parents in the area of Gujarati.

This years winners were dee-haruz: Anil Mistry, Jayesh Mistry, Pramod Mistry and Kishor Mistry, who won on the extra end 2-1.

The winners of this year’s Plate was Munnabaiz: Dhiren Mistry, Akshay Mistry, Hema Mistry and Manesh Mistry, who won their final 2-0.

Sixteen teams took part in the Christmas night gala on December 27, including new bowlers, non members, members and friends all contesting for the fun of the sport wearing christmas attire.

When the fourth game had concluded, the winners on 31 points were the Snow Flakes of Julia Scott, Sandy Boulton, Ron Boulton and Roy Scott just ahead of Downtown Abbey on 29 points. The booby prize was won by the Beginners Luck team. They were Sheena Bakewell, Sharon Austin, Chloe Austin and Linda Clarke.

The next gala is on Sunday, Febuary 3 in aid of the British Heart Foundation’s ‘Rock up in Red’ day.

This Saturday coaching begins on January 5 and every Saturday during the winter at 10am. Every standard of bowler catered for, we all need to learn something.