BOWLS: Rugby Bowling Club AGM


Successful year on the green

At Rugby Bowling Club’s annual general meeting President Martyn Murley and Captain Dave Mobbs reviewed another successful year on the green and congratulated all the winners particularly Craig Carter and Tom Millership on winning the 2014 Warwickshire Pairs and the National Pairs Championship which was held at Leamington for the first time. Craig and Tom will now represent England in this year’s British Isles Championships in Scotland.

In addition to the pairs, club members had a record year in the County Finals which were held at Wolvey. Stuart Thomas was runner-up in the Two-Woods, the Triples was won by Liam Pearcey, Tom Millership and Craig Carter and the Fours champions are Martyn Murley, Matt Wells, Calvin Wells and Alan Apsey. Winning the Fours was a milestone for Calvin. He now has the distinction of winning the County Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours.

Warwickshire won this year’s Bowls England double-rinkInter-County Balcomb Trophy. Six of the eight players in the Warwickshire team were from Rugby Club: Alan Apsey, Brian Boardman, Tom Millership, Martyn Murley, Matt Wells, and Calvin Wells plus Colin Jacox (Coventry Avenue) and Rob Robinson (Erdington Court).

Alan Apsey, Craig Carter and Tom Millership had the honour of taking part in the International Trials in Leamington. Tom has been called up to the Bowls England Senior Team to take part in the Men’s International Series to be played in Hamilton, Scotland over the weekend June 27-28.

There were more wins for club members in the RBA competitions. Nigel Carter won the Dick Avery Singles and the Coronation Pairs Cup was won by Adrian Johnston and Tom Millership. The runners-up were Liam Pearcey and Craig Carter. The club won the inter-club Friendship Cup.

Officers elected for the 2015 season are President, Adrian Johnston; Secretary, Sue Moses; Captain, Bruce Truman; Vice-captain, Nigel Townsend; Match Secretary, Bill Medland. Committee, Joe Brayson, John Codling, Rick Hayes, Nigel Hewitson, James Laidlaw and Barry Lines.