BOWLS: Warwickshire squad selection

Share this article

Eight Rugby Bowling Club players named

Bowls by Alan Jackson

Warwickshire County BA’s Senior Squad Team Co-managers Jim Freeman and Francis Fletcher have named a 35 man squad for the upcoming Middleton Cup and Midlands Counties League fixtures.

As expected Rugby BC provide the largest contingent of bowlers with eight members, Alan Apsey again named as team captain and Liam Pearcey recalled after an impressive season which saw him National Junior Singles Runner-up. Rugby’s other representatives are Brian Boardman, Calvin Wells, Craig Carter, Martin Murley, Matt Wells and Tom Millership.

The Avenues of Coventry and Leamington both provide five players, Leamington’s including Matt Wordingham who has moved to the area as part of Bowls England’s relocation. A good performance in last season’s fours has earned Nuneaton duo Geoff Millership and Trevor Manning a call-up to join their sons (Tom Millership, now at Rugby, and Andy Manning) in the squad.

Dan Ward from Whitnash returns to the squad after recovering from a bad knee injury last year. Norgren’s Rob Maries (current County Competition Secretary and Past President) also joins the team after a record of good performances in both County and South Warwickshire Area competitions.

Full team from other clubs:

Avenue Coventry: Colin Jacox, Greg Sampson, Karl Finch, Steve Merrett and Steve Taylor.

Avenue Leamington: Adam Smith, Andy Smith, Andy Strain, Luke Horne and Matt Wordingham.

Entaco: Neil Brereton.

Erdington Court: Rob Robinson.

Kings Heath: Chris Barton, Matt Green and Paul Finch.

Little Compton: Dan Box, Graham Box and Neil Hancock.

Norgren: Phil Green and Rob Maries.

Nuneaton: Andy Manning, Geoff Millership, Ian Harrison and Trevor Manning.

Three Spires: Martin Hammond.

Whitnash: Dan Ward.

Wolvey: Pete Harwood.