BRIDGE: Best league season for Village club

Members of Rugby Village Bridge Club's teams celebrate
Members of Rugby Village Bridge Club's teams celebrate

Team win Northamptonshire Manning Salver for Division 3 South

On Tuesday afternoon of last week 15 pairs were led by Mary Kerridge & David Reed with 60.19. Second were Edwige Quick & Sue Robards with 57.94. Frank Grace & Isobel Ross took third with 55.56. Daphne Rourke & Susan Harris were fourth with 54.63. 52.78 saw Glenys Barton & Jan Maxon into fifth and Margaret Millbery & Nicky Bainbridge were sixth with 52.78.

On Thursday evening nine pairs played a three quarter Howell movement. In first place, by some margin, were Janet O’Connor & Don Prowse with 65.08. Graham Clarke & Pat Exelby finished second with 58.73. In third place were Chris Cooper & Maxwell Kynoch with 57.14.

On Thursday late afternoon the club celebrated its best teams league season yet with a sparkling tea party. Members of the teams pictured here with the Northamptonshire Manning Salver for winning Division 3 South are (left to right): Nicky Bainbridge; Stella Gill; Jean Wilson; Peter Iredale; Vera Iredale; Dennis Angove and Chris Cooper. Janet O’Connor, Max Kynoch, Malcolm Melrose, Ed White, Geoff Bennett; Helen Foster and Sue Robards also played and helped us to our first title!