Club award to world champion Smallwood

No Caption ABCDE
No Caption ABCDE
Share this article

On Saturday night over 100 members of Rugby Triathlon Club celebrate their achievements in 2011.

Club Chairman Alison Postlethwaite welcomed the guests and highlighted the strengths of the club. She thanked members for their support throughout the year and reminded all that plans to host races in 2012 were underway.

She said: “It was a shame that we were unable to host our own races this year but our Club Championships have been more successful than ever.

“We have had a considerable number of members who have represented Great Britain and also many new members taking part in their first triathlon.

“The club’s coaching programme has gone from strength to strength and we can pride ourselves on the support and encouragement we offer to all members whatever their ability.”

Club Captain, Keith Edwards outlined how the club had grown to over 120 members, how more people had raced in the Club Championships than ever this year and how 11 club teams had competed in this year’s National Club Relay Championships.

He also announced this year’s Captain’s Award winner was Mike Smallwood. Keith explained: “We’ve had some brilliant personal achievements from many members both experienced and novice alike, but Mike stands out for several reasons.

“His achievements are very special, his results, his attitude, the way he races and his approach to the sport shine through.”

Mike Smallwood is the current World Sprint Champion (60-64 age group) - won in Beijing this September.

He is also the European Sprint Champion, adding to his current British Sprint and Olympic Distance Champion titles.

Captain Keith continued: “Besides Mike, there were some incredible performances, Tony Johnson had a spectacular year winning his age group (60-64) at many top races and qualifying for the very prestigious Ironman World Championships held in Hawaii.

“Watching Naomi Leugs complete her first Olympic distance race was very special.

Staci Leach, Mark Hazle and Rob Riddell all completed Sprint, Olympic and Middle distance races in their first full year of competition.

“Peter Belfield posted very fast times in both Sprint and Olympic distances in his first season ever and our Honorary Member Hywel Davies won his age group in both the European Long Course and the British Middle Distance Championships.

“We also had eight club members represent Great Britain in both duathlons and triathlons at the World and European Championships namely Julie Davies, Mike Smallwood, Sam Anderson, Stuart Hopkins, Adrian Wyatt, Hywel Davies, Peter Wright and me!”

The full list of winners were:

Men’s Olympic (Open): 1 Keith Edwards, 2 Jamie Sinclair, 3 Greg Ashley. (Handicap) 1 Tony Johnson, 2 Chris Wood, 3 Mark Hazle.

(Novice): 1 Peter Belfield, 2 Mark Hazle, 3 Adam Rouledge.

Women’s Olympic (Open): 1 Staci Leach, 2 Kirstie Nichols 3 Bev Masterman. (Handicap) 1 Naomi Leugs. (Novice) 1 Staci Leach, 2 Kirstie Nichols, 3 Ben Masterman.

Men’s Middle: (Open) 1 Keith Edwards, 2 Greg Ashley, 3 Phil Scott. (Handicap): 1 Tony Johnson, 2 Rod McGowan, 3 Phil Gatley. (Novice): 1 Mark Hazle, 2 Mike Donnelly, 3 Paul Peasgood.

Women’s Middle: (Open) 1 Julie Davies, 2 Staci Leach.

(Novice) 1 Staci Leach.

Men’s Long Distance: (Open) 1 Keith Edwards, 2 Phil Scott, 3 Peter Wright.

Men’s Sprint (Open) 1 Steve Whittington, 2 Greg Ashlaey, 3 Peter Belfield. (Handicap): 1 Mike Smallwood, 2 Chris Wood, 3 Phil Gatley. (Novice): 1 Stuart Hopkins, 2 Peter Belfield, 3 Mark Hazle.

Women’s Sprint: (Open) 1 Christa Morris, 2 Claire James, 3 Beverley Masterman. (Handicap) 1 Sally Baker, 2 Julie Davies, 3 Kirstie Nichols.

(Novice) 1 Christa Morris, 2 Anne Portsmouth, 3 Allison Morris.