CROSS COUNTRY: National relays at Mansfield

Jacob Allen in the U20s race
Jacob Allen in the U20s race
Share this article

Rugby & Northampton AC field 64 runners in 21 teams

Hundreds of teams from across the country descended on Mansfield last weekend for the National Cross Country Relay Championships and with changeable weather from sunny to wind and rain, 21 teams consisting of 64 athletes competed for Rugby & Northampton Athletic Club. Many good individual performances along with solid team performances made it a very successful day out for the club.

The U13 Boys team narrowly missed out on a medal at the popular Berry Hill Park venue.

The squad of Adam Searle, Joe Musgrove and Rhys James ran superbly to finish in fourth place over a 2k course. Searle was the star performer for the club when his time of 7 mins 9 secs was the 9th fastest of the day and he handed over to Musgrove in 7th. His time of 7.19 moved the team into 3rd as James took over on the final leg. Although he recorded 7.20 he couldn’t quite hold off Charnwood’s Oliver Rouse and R&N missed the podium by one second.

The B team finished in 36th spot with Ethan Kent-Whittaker setting the fastest time on leg one with 7.28, followed by Ben Hope (8.12) and Matthew Rushton (7.44). Tom Hughes 7.59, Jack Carey 7.54 and Cian Hutton 8.31 finished 55th for the C team.

Amy Walker led the U13 Girls to 17th place over the same distance with her opening leg of 7.49, then Olivia White followed with 8.37 before Poppy Carmichael also dipped under 8 mins (7.59).

The B team were 57th and consisted of Charis Hayes (8.31), Abigail Pearce (8.22) and Zoe Morling (9.29). Completing a full compliment of the U13 age group were Rosie Edmonds (8.41),Paulina Potomska (9.23) and Olivia Shehan (9.00) who placed 62nd for the C team.

The U20 Women had one team taking part and competed over 2.5k. Charlotte Inwood was the fastest with her first leg of 10.39 and the squad was completed by Eden Bates with 11.33 and Clarissa Blake ( 11.02) to finish a creditable 24th.

Jacob Allen helped the U20 Men to 36th spot, setting off with 9.31 for 3k. He was followed by Ben James (10.26) and Robert Male (10.07). They also finished a B team consisting of Tom Charteress (10.29), Yoseph Wilson (11.44) and Joe Lantsbery (10.45) and were placed 56th.

Kirsty Goddard was R&N’s quickest athlete in the U17 Women’s event with her final leg of 9.41 over 2.5k for 29th place. She had good back up from Emma Bond (10.01) and Nicole Johnson (10.46). The B team finished 50th through Katie Clubb (11.18), Natalie Goddard (11.17) and Phoebe White (11.38).

The U17 Men had to run 3k and once more the anchor leg produced the fastest time for the R&N squad when Harry Hughes recorded 10.06 and along with Hizam Sheekh (10.28) and Kyran Wilson (10.33) they finished 37th.

The B team (62nd) were Oliver Munns 11.14, Finn Skuce 11.43 and Ben Musgrove 10.26 with the C team (66th) consisting of Adam Wright 10.45, Liam Wardle 11.46 and Edward Wise 11.19.

The club had two teams in the U15 Boys race over 2k and leading them off was Oskar Potomski with 7.03 and then Joshua Lay with exactly 7 mins, before Thomas Haynes recorded 7.57 for 42nd spot. Cameron Roberts (7.42) set off the B team with Ewan Roberts 7.27 and Finn Hutton (7.47) for 65th.

Lily Carmichael ran exactly the same time as sister Poppy over 2k with a 7.59 in the U15 Girls competition and following her was Millie Mason (9.37) and Georgia Willix (8.19) to place 67th.

The Senior Women over 3k saw Emily Waugh run the first leg in 11.03 to hand over in 22nd place to Sarah Booker who ran well to record 13.27. The anchor leg of 13.23 by Angela Copson brought the R&N ladies home in 51st.

The Senior Men ran their usual two-lap 5k course and Seb Palmer was the fastest R&N athlete on the opening stage with 17.28, which placed him 72nd, the same position in which they finished. The four man squad was made up of Iain Botheroyd (18.53), Chris Lamb (18.44) and John Gercs (18.39).

Paul Birch led off the B team with 19.20 to hand over to Brendan Moen with 18.57. Pete Currington (19.23) and Steve Milner (19.39) completed the team for 97th spot.

Only two athletes contested the C team with Terry Egan recording 20.26 and Vince Carroll 20.12.