CYCLE SPEEDWAY: Bretford Bulldogs

editorial image
Share this article

Whizz-kid Phillips wins maiden Under 17 crown

Rugby based Mason Phillips headed home a Bretford 1-2-3 in the Coventry Under 17 final following a night of tense racing featuring riders from the Bretford Bulldogs and Coventry Cycle Speedway Clubs.

Phillips, was however, taken to a run off with two-time champion Lee Kemp, as the pair finished on 19 points a piece. Phillips dropped his only point in his opening ride against Josh Marsh, whilst Kemp lost out to Phillips in the all action heat 12.

Fellow Bretford man Kyle Roberts finished 3rd on 18 points whilst Coventry’s James Kirrane, Daniel Drewitt and Josh Marsh also impressed on the night.

Phillips won the coin toss for the choice of gate position and chose gate 2, whilst Kemp settled for gate 4. Phillips out gated Kemp and despite a late charge from the reigning champ - it wasn’t enough as Phillips took the flag.

Pictures: Action from Heat 12 Mason Phillips leading Lee Kemp, Kyle Roberts and Danny Drewitt

Bretford 1-2-3 (Left) Lee Kemp, (Centre) Mason Phillips, (Right) Kyle Roberts