MI Racing team for 2014
MI Racing team for 2014

Launch of team for 2014

Mick Ives’ elite cycle race team launch took place at the weekend, at Polypipe, one of their sponsors, in Loughborough.

The MI Racing team owned and directed by the multi world cycling champion from Baginton, has just recorded its best ever season, with an most impressive list of championships, including national cyclo cross titles for Rugby’s Phil Roach.

They won one UCI World Masters Championship, two UCI European Championships and one European Triathlon Championship, 21 British Cycling Championships, one British Team Championship and three National series Championships as well as over 100 open event victories.

MI Racing has already won one British Cycling Championship this year,

Ives said: “To beat that total of 2013 championships will be a very tall order, but we have the riders capable of it. It’s all down to hard work and a bit of luck. Whatever happens, the team will continue to compete in all disciplines of the sport, all over the UK and in major events abroad, where ever possible.”

The team’s main sponsor will once again be Jewson for the 2014 season, which will welcome seven new riders.

MI Racing will be promoting five open events as well as an evening road race series, during 2014.

2013 Championship winners were:

Les Liddiard: LVRC National Road Race Champion.

Martin Russell: LVRC National Time Trial Champion, and National Road Race Series Champion.

Derrick Woodings: UCI World Masters, European BC and LVRC National Track Champion.

Mick Allen: European BC and LVRC National Track Champion.

Mike Twelves: National Road Race Series Champion.

Pete Smith: LVRC National Cyclo Cross Champion.

Anne Murray: National Mountain Bike Enduro Champion.

Phil Roach: National Cyclo Cross Champion, for both BC and LVRC.

Jack Watson: National Road Race Champion LVRC.

Darren Atkins: LVRC National Cyclo Cross Champion

Samantha Anderson: European and British Triathlon Champion.

Louise Day: CTT Ladies Vet Time Trial Champion.