CYCLING: Rugby Velo and Rugby RCC

editorial image

All the week’s news and results

Rugby Velo

After taking two cyclocross wins over the winter, Rugby Velo Youth rider Luke Markham (pictured) took his first win on tarmac at the Barkston Heath Circuit Races. This comes on top of multiple podium finishes at the Milton Keynes Bowl and the Curborough Sprint Course. The Youth races are a good introduction for young riders, with a duration of 30 minutes plus three laps at the end, they form a good proving ground and a great way for them to learn the discipline of Road Racing.

In the weekly time trials the riders rode the K10/10A course for the first time. There was championship drama as Colin Stiles suffered a puncture and did not finish, leaving Rugby Velo maestro Phil Clark to scrape the win with a 23-21 only three seconds ahead of Lee Edmonds (23-24) who continues to show great early season form pushing the usual front runners. Third place was taken by Phil Hughes (24-34) despite his efforts two days previously as part of Rugby Velo’s Pedalcar team.

Other times: S.Whittington 25-16; M.Humphreys 26-06; D.Garrett 26-08; S.Franklin 26-17; M.Paget 27-14; K.Rushall 32-33; C.Stiles DNF (Punctured).

Guest Riders: J.Meadows 26-02; H.Baker 28-38; D.Newton 29-28.

Rugby RCC

April 13 - Course: K10/10 Princethorpe

Wintry and cold conditions, a complete contrast to the previous week’s evening time trial, met the 44 riders in the 10 mile time trial on the Princthorpe course.

The winner was Hywel Davies on his return to club membership, with Craig McKee about to claim his first win. There were also good rides from Tim Hastie and from Adrian Wyatt who has stepped up a level in fitness this season and won the handicap for the third week in a row. Mike MacLeod was unfortunate and did not finish due to a broken saddle bolt, while David Baxter and Chris Parsons both went off course, taking in the loop around the old Peugeot site. All riders’ times were affected by the conditions, with most between one and two minutes above their previous best for the distance.

Full results:

Hywel Davies 21-58, Craig McKee 22-31, Tim Hastie 23-29, Adrian Wyatt 23-40, Russell Morris 23-41, Adrian Tayles 23-44, Matthew Plant 23-45, Peter Wright 23-46, Russell Green 24-06, David Newton 24-22, John Gabriel 24-32, Eliot Blundell 24-34, David Kimberley 24-51, Craig Middleton 25-35, Simon Mitchell 25-41, Victoria Plant 25-58, Mike Smallwood 26-14, Martin Orrill 26-16, Andrew Childs 26-26, Ray Dyke 26-27, Craig Wash 26-45, Patrick Weir 26-51, Marina Bloom 27-05, Simon Brand 27-16, Keith Hirons 27-19, Sean Conway 28-17, Mark Roberts 28-19, Dave Pettifor 28-24, Mike McGillion 28-29, Stuart Sykes 29-00, Alan James 29-17, Chris Lodge 30-03, Angus Gordon 30-13, Steve Bond 30-38, Rob Robson 30-50, Beverley Masterman 36-06, David Baxter DNF, Mike Macleod DNF, Chris Parsons DNF.

Club Handicap: Adrian Wyatt 18-40, Craig McKee 19-31, Simon Mitchell 19-51.

Tandem: Mike Bloom & Suzy O’Shea 27-37.

Private Entries: Chris Brown (Sheffield Phoenix) 26-03, Gethin Musk 26-13, Mike Wheeler 26-43, Ann-Marie Jackman 30-38.

Mike Bloom rode the Bedfordshire RC 25mile time trial on the A1course the weather was cold road cones appeared while the race was going on which did not help but he still did 1hr 8mins 23secs .

Riding his first event of the season Leisure Lakes rider Vince Jenkins managed to squeeze into the prize list when he took third place on standard out of a field of 96 in the VTTA 10 mile Time Trial at Tuxford near Newark, Notts, on Saturday.

Averaging over 25mph he was able to take advantage of the good conditions to record a time of 23.30 that beat the standard time for his age by 8.45.