CYCLING: The week’s results

editorial image

Rugby RCC, Rugby Velo and MI Racing

Pictured are Stacy Penn, Wendy Kirby and Samantha Anderson



and back after breaking his ankle Malc Brookling

7th April 2011 - Course: K11/10 Lawford.

Rugby RCC’s 10 mile time trial based at Long Lawford, held last Wednesday evening, had a familiar look to the finishing order at the top of the table, even if times were down on expectations due to a combination of a tough, hilly course and a cool north-easterly wind. It was another clear win for Hywel Davies, with Craig McKee again in second place. There was also an excellent ride by Adrian Tayles, who pushed Peter Wright into 4th place, followed by the much improved Adrian Wyatt. There was a healthy entry of 52 riders, despite the less popular Lawford course and the effect of Easter holidays.

Hywel Davies 22-19, Craig McKee 22-54, Adrian Tayles 23-37, Peter Wright 23-37, Adrian Wyatt 23-45, David Newton 23-55, Mike McCann 24-00, John Gabriel 24-27, Russell Green 24-36, David Kimberley 24-47, Eliot Blundell 24-50, Phil Gatley 25-39, Simon Mitchell 25-51, Mike Smallwood 25-53, Andrew Childs 25-55, Phil Byrne 26-22, Chris Parsons 26-22, Mark Carver 26-28, Ray Dyke 26-28, Ryan Kenworthy 26-33, Peter Belfield 26-36, Martin Orrill 26-38, Tony Johnson 26-41, David Gillett 26-47, Craig Wash 27-08, Patrick Weir 27-08, Keith Hirons 27-29, Peter Timmins 27-29, Dave Pettifor 27- 40, Richard Kenworthy 27-41, Simon Brand 27-48, Mike Macleod 27-54, Jamie Roberts 28-06, David Baxter 28-34, Mike Bloom 29-04, Rob Robson 29-28, Alan James 29-31, Ian Usher 29-55, Mark Roberts 30-00, Julie Andrews 30-01, Chris Lodge 30-08, Stuart Sykes 30-41, Jonathan Jordan 30-56, Angus Gordon 31-27, Paul Peasegood 31-53, John Brothers 35-49, Beverley Masterman 36-32.

Club Handicap: Chris Parsons 19-32, Adrian Wyatt 19-55, Mark Carver 19-58.

Private Entries: Chris Brown (Sheffield Phoenix) 25-45, Steve Howes 25-55, Alex Priestley (Mike Vaughn Cycles) 27-09, Tracey Price (Warwickshire Police CC) 31-00, Stuart Hopkins D N F.


Tuesday’s race saw the riders racing on the fast K11/10T course. Colin Stiles took back to back wins with a 22-29, 58 seconds quicker than second placed in the race and Championship leader Lee Edmonds (23-21). Third place was Club Secretary Gary Hipwell (23-53) who has only finished third so far this year and currently stands at fourth in the championship.

Other Times: Michelle Paget 26-18; Jes Featherston 28-06; Ken Rushall 31-28.

Guest Riders: Jason Haynes 23-42; R.Cotton 24-00; Vince Jenkins 24-52; Natasha Morrison 24-58; J.Meadows 25-29; P.Byrne 26-05; Howard Baker 26-41; Dave Newton 29-12


Team Jewson MIRacing were clear winners of the team Championships in the Classic Dianna Cooke Memorial 10 mile held at Bourton on Dunsmore and organised by Coventry Cycling Club.

The winning team was made up of top triathlete Stacey Penn, who finished an excellent 4th in the high class field of 45 riders from all over UK in 24-46.

Fellow Triathlete Samantha Anderson, riding her first ever open time trial amazed with her performance recording 25-24 to claim 7th place and first in the Handicap section. The 3rd member of the team was Wendy Kirby with 27-19.

Samantha made it three wins in a few days, by winning the Warwick Duathlon at St Nicholas Park as part of her build up for the World Triathlon Championships later in the season.

In the Mens event Mick Ives was 2nd in the best veteran on Standard competition, with an actual time of 25-47. Adrian Kirby impressed with 24-44.

And at Marlow, Bucks, Rugby’s Malc. Brookling, finished his first event of the season following a broken ankle and recorded the very fast time of 21-34 in the VTTA London 10 mile time trial, in very tough windy conditions.