Don’t let someone you know miss out on awards

LAST week we launched the 2012 Rugby Sports Awards to recognise sporting success and outstanding dedication

Some of you have already collected entry forms, but there’s still plenty of time to think about nominations. The deadline is Monday, February 6.

For the first time the presentations will be held at prestigious venue of The Temple Speech Room at Rugby School.

Rugby Borough Council and the Rugby Advertiser have joined forces for the 17th time to recognise the best local talent, supported by Rugby FM.

There are nine categories to enter, which will honour both success on the field and those involved behind the scenes

The ever-popular Coach of the Year award is the perfect way of showing your coach or manager just how much they are appreciated. Last year’s winner was Rugby Synchro Club’s Hannah Dudley.

And Rugby’s Club of the Year should have celebrated success in sport and development initiatives last year. Rugby Table Tennis Club did just that to win in 2011.

Do you know an Unsung Hero Volunteer, whose hard work might otherwise go unrecognised?

Or someone who deserves the Lifetime Achievement award, for their years of dedication?

Last year’s unsung hero was Simon Outhwaite for his role as treasurer in several clubs and the lifetime achievement award went to Stewart Harris for his dedication to athletics.

The Lion Geoff Thompson Young Volunteer of the Year Award will be presented in memory of the Rugby Rokeby Lion who died in December 2010.

It will recognise a positive role model who shows great commitment to their sport and include a bursary of £100 to be used by club or organisation with which the winner is involved.

Last year the winner was Rugby Town’s Jasmine Morris, for her work in girls’ football.

It runs alongside the Simon Warwood Memorial Award for Young Team of the Year which has been presented for many years in memory of the talented young sportsman who loved football and cricket and was an excellent clubman.

Rugby Swimming Club’s junior sychro team were the winners in 2011 after an outstanding year.

Also for under 18s the Excellence in Sport awards are open to those who have attained regional or national level in their chosen sport.

Ten awards will be made, each receiving £100 towards training or equipment.

They were won last year by: Matthew Outhwaite (table tennis); Rebecca Lewis (sailing); Hugh Brayshaw (sailing); Kimberley Woods (canoeing); Lauren Taylor (golf); Charlotte Taylor (golf); Jake Hersey (tennis); James Simpson (hockey); Sophie Randle (synchro); Eve O’Sullivan (badminton) and Kerry Murch (athletics).

Finally for individual achievers we are seeking the senior Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year, who for whom 2011 was one to remember.

The awards last year went jointly to swimmer Ross Turner and athlete Kevin Murch; and swimmer Karen Bates.

n New sponsors for several of these categories would be welcomed.

n Nominations are welcome for successes and achievements between January 1 and December 31, 2011.

All applications will be judged by a panel and those shortlisted will be invited to attend the award ceremony on Wednesday, March 28.

n Nomination forms are available from the Advertiser reception in Albert Street or by visiting Alternatively you can request a nomination form - or find out more about sponsoring a category - by calling (01788) 533749.