GOLF: Dale Marson and Abi Mortimer-Lane win club championships

Dale Marson, captain Duncan Snook and Lewis Hetherington
Dale Marson, captain Duncan Snook and Lewis Hetherington

Rugby Golf Club

Over 60 golfers contested the Club Championship, the blue riband event of Rugby Golf Club’s competitive programme. With the course in superb condition, and the greens at their quickest and truest, fine breezy weather greeted the competitors as they took on the challenge of 36 holes gross strokeplay counting towards the championship - with a net competition running alongside the main event.

The early pace was set by Tom Cleaton who shot level par in the first round, but it was Tom Morton who stole the morning’s headlines with his first ever hole in one at the par 3 7th.

In the afternoon it was Dale Marson who came to the fore with another level par round to take first place with an impressive 2 over par 138. Playing off scratch, it was a welcome return to the winners circle for the former junior international.

Tom Cleaton took second on 142 and Jack Malone, Ashley Moss and Pete McIntosh shared third on 147.

In the net competition Lewis Hetherington’s stunning net 61 in the second round saw him take first place, edging out club vice captain Mark Ridley by three shots.

The Ladies Section held their prestigious 36-hole Club Championship on Wednesday, in conjunction with the Net Trophy also played over 36 holes. Congratulations go to Abi Mortimer-Lane, Ladies’ Champion for 2014 with a gross two-round score of 145, and to Judith Pegler in second place with a gross 155.

The Net Trophy winner is yet to be decided as three ladies came in with a gross score of 145, Sue Jones, Sue Graham and Caroline Brow, a situation which doesn’t appear to have been chronicled before. A play-off will be arranged for a further 18 holes to be played and, if after that an outright winner is not declared, will continue to be played to a sudden death.

An EG Medal also played alongside these competitions, over 18 holes, saw Abi Mortimer-Lane the winner with a net 64 and Judith Pegler in second place with a net 68.