POLO: Rugby Polo Club

The winners Rutland Polo Club
The winners Rutland Polo Club

The Mountbatten Cup, 0 Goal

On Friday and Saturday last week, Rugby Polo Club hosted the Mountbatten Cup zero goal tournament. The tournament saw six teams enter and with some fast and furious matches played on the Friday, Saturday was looking to be a cracking spectacle.



The first match of the day was the final in which Rutland Polo Club looked to have in the bag after the first two chukkas, leading the Kangaroos by 7.5 to 1 with Alex Boucher and Huw Beavan running in some fantastic field goals.

However, in the final two chukkas the Kangaroos fought back pulling the score back to within a two goals of Rutland but it was too little too late for the Kangaroo as the Rutland team took home the silverware by 8.5 goals to 7.

The 3rd and 4th place playoff between Rugby Polo Club and Ian Donland’s Inn team was a bit of a stop, start game. Inn team took an early lead and managed to hold on to this for the rest of the game despite Rugby never being more than a goal behind, the score finishing 6 goals to 5.

The final game of the day was over 5th and 6th in which Kingsbridge came out on top beating Pololine by 7 goals to 4.5.

Rugby Polo Club’s next tournament weekend is August 10 & 11. They will be running the Town’s Trophy (6 goal), The BB Challenge (0 Goal) and the No Pro Challenge (-2).


Winning team Rutland Polo Club: Huw Beavan, Alex Boucher, Paul Girdham, Chris Clowes.

Runners-up Kangaroos: Del Kang, Will Spencer, Gary Allen, Ed Batchelor.