Season’s award winners

editorial image

Rugby Youth Badminton Squad concluded the 2010/11 season with a series of round robin tournaments to find the best players in their junior, intermediate and senior groups.

In the junior group a very close contest saw all contestants scoring a similar number of points.

The result was only resolved in the final round of matches with Ashley Bodycote coming out on top. Runner-up was Sravya Datla.

In the intermediate group Jamil Miah beat all comers, only Ben Kimberley pressing him hard.

Kishan Mistry won the prize for runner up, losing only one game, to the eventual winner.

Thomas Gallagher proved far too strong in the senior competition, winning all his games comfortably. Runner up spot went to Lewis Cobb. Once again everyone gave their all and several rivalries will be renewed next season.

The beginners played a Team Singles competition, the winners were Jack Fletcher and Prakhar Gupta, with Jemima Cox, Emily Naylor and Anna Woodbridge in second place.

Awards for the Most Improved Player in each of the four groups went to Anna Woodbridge, James Fletcher, Ben Kimberley and Lewis Cobb.

Trophies, medals and certificates were presented by Chief Coach Terry Gooding; Rugby’s coach of the year for 2009.

n Coaching starts again in September. For more details visit or contact John Wardropper on (024) 76543268 or email: