SPEEDWAY: Brandonapolis

FORMER Coventry No.1 Hans Andersen will defend his Brandonapolis title in the club’s prestigious season-opener on Friday, March 16.

Andersen, who has had two spells with the Buildbase Bees, won the event on its last staging in 2010, and is building up to an important season as he also returns to the Grand Prix series this year.

The Dane helped the Bees to the Craven Shield trophy when he joined the club for the final three months of the 2008 campaign, and he also started last year in Coventry colours before suffering a serious foot injury just before Easter. This year, he will be lining up for Elite League rivals Swindon.

Also named in the Brandonapolis field is another ex-Coventry man, Lee Richardson, who is now captain of the Lakeside Hammers.

Former GP man Richardson rode for the Bees between 2000 and 2003, winning the Elite League Riders’ Championship on his home circuit in his final year with the club.

Four places remain to be filled in the line-up, and Coventry promoter Colin Pratt has confirmed the Brandonapolis will follow the same format as in 2010.

That means the meeting will be decided on a winner-takes-all Final, for which the top two scorers from the 20 heats will qualify automatically. Riders placed third to sixth will race-off for the remaining two places in the Final.

Pratt said: “I always believe you should keep to a consistent format where possible, so we will run it the same way as last time, and with 22 races it should be a great night of action.

“We were pleased to get confirmation from Hans as it’s always good to have the defending Champion in the field, and I’m sure Lee will be a contender as well with all of his experience of the circuit.”

BRANDONAPOLIS – Friday March 16

Parade: 7.45pm; First race 8pm

Confirmed starters:

Hans Andersen

Greg Hancock

Chris Harris

Maciej Janowski

Edward Kennett

Kenni Larsen

Freddie Lindgren

Scott Nicholls

Nicki Pedersen

Lee Richardson

Rory Schlein

Sebastian Ulamek