SPORTS AWARDS: Winners announced

Sports Awards 2013
Sports Awards 2013

Presentations at the Benn Hall last night (Wednesday)

The winners of Rugby Sports Awards for 2013 - organised by Rugby Borough Council and supported by the Rugby Advertiser and Rugby FM - were announced last night.

Congratulations to all those who won awards and finalists, who recorded some outstanding achievements in 2013 and remarkable dedication behind the scenes.

Sports Club of the Year: Winners Rugby & East Warwickshire Hockey Club; finalists Old Laurentians RFC and Rugby St Andrews RFC.

The Mark Gallagher award for Coach of the Year: Winners Richard Allan and Julia Bower (R&EW Hockey Club); finalists Kevin Murch (Rugby & Northampton Athletics Club) and Hannah Secher (Rugby Swimming Club synchro section).

The Simon Warwood Award for Young Team of the Year: Winners Rugby Swimming Club U12s synchro; finalists R&EW Hockey Club’s Under 12 boys.

Sportswoman of the Year: Winner Ellena Ruddock (athletics); finalists Kerry Murch (athletics), Sophie Randle (synchro swimming), Kimberley Woods (canoeing).

Sportsman of the Year: Winner David Kolodynski (football); finalists Ryan Hunt (canoeing) and Liam Pearcey (bowls).

Unsung Hero Volunteer: Winner Sandra Kelleher (Rugby Swimming Club); finalists Shirley Hall (LMR Junior netball club), Graham Kemp (Bretford Bulldogs cycle speedway club).

The Lion Geoff Thompson award for Young Volunteer of the Year: Winner: Sherwin Fernando (Rugby Sport for the Disabled); finalist Harry Brignal (Rugby Lawn Tennis Club),

Excellence in Sport: Winners: Emily Durkin, Oliver Fowler, Jake Hersey, Ryan Hunt, Lee Kemp, Daniel Lewis, Jack Lewis, Patrick Mills, Kerry Murch, Kimberley Woods.

Pictures in next week’s Rugby Advertiser (March 13 edition)