Terrific trophy time

editorial image
Share this article

YOUNGSTERS picked up trophies and let their hair down at Rugby Swimming Club’s Annual Awards.

More than 100 people enjoyed the evening at the Railway Club on Hillmorton Road.

The main event was the awarding of trophies by the Club’s Honorary President Ross Turner, who was also the joint winner of the Rugby Sportsman of the Year award in 2011, to a select group of swimmers who each topped their age group at Rugby’s recent club championships.

Many swimmers had already picked up trophies and medals during the championships, but now it was the turn of the best overall performers.

The trophy winners were:

8 years: Keeley Everton & Lucas Marshall; 9 years: Ceri House & Jake Smith; 10 years: Lucy House & Luke Harris; 11 years: Abigail Bolton & Rhys James; 12 years: Hattie Byrne & Thomas Parker; 13 years: Anna Shepherd & Matthew Laity; 14 years: Rachel Madigan & Jonathan Teasdale; 15 and over: Charlotte Beech & Daniel Hartup.

A very successful evening to mark a very successful year; 2012 looks like it will be even better.

Rugby Swimming Club is on the look-out for swimmers of all abilities, especially aged of 8-14.

If you are interesting in training sessions which are physically challenging, fun and largely focused on technique, please contact