BOWLS: New county president takes over

Chris Richards hands over to new county president Di Medhurst
Chris Richards hands over to new county president Di Medhurst

Warwickshire Ladies raise £2,100 for Arden Cancer Appeal

As Chris Richards (Lillington BC) stepped down as President and handed over the reins to Di Medhurst (Stoke BC) she had one last duty to perform – that was to hand over a cheque for £2,100 to Alistair McIntosh from the Arden Cancer Appeal. This was only achieved thanks to the support of bowlers both in the county and from further afield.

The University Hospital Coventry and Warwickshire Oncology Department is developing an academic and research base for cancer patients across Warwickshire.  The Cancer Ward appeal has helped fund the development of the new six-bed chemotherapy research unit which means that patients no longer have to travel to other centres to take advantage of the new cancer treatments in their trial stages.

As new developments proceed and patients’ needs, both general and individual, are identified the Trustees will continue to provide essential support to the cancer department. This charity is independent of the NHS and raises funds for the care, equipment and training that NHS funding cannot provide.

Taking Office, Di thanked Chris for her hard work and commitment to the County, and went on to thank her club for not only sponsoring her but to thank them in advance for all the hard work that lies ahead of them in the coming season. “We will be hosting not only the regular events that are normally held at the President’s club, but additional matches such as the Ladies versus the Gents and a Celebratory Match against Bowls England in recognition of the County’s 80th Anniversary,” she said.

“My charity this year is Guide Dogs for the Blind and I am really excited about the opportunity to promote this very worthy cause. They do some fabulous work not just with adults but also with toddlers who have impaired sight and are starting to take their first steps. There will be more information about how we can learn more and support this charity on the website shortly.”

Other officers elected at the AGM were Senior Vice-President – Chris Ward (Lillington); Junior Vice-President – Joy Cooke (Blossomfield); Treasurer - Janet Scott; Competition Secretary - Dianne Green (both Sherwood Park); Secretary - Ann Doherty; Match Secretary - Jenny Corn (both Lillington) and Assistant Secretary – Elaine Taylor (Stoke).