BOWLS: Rugby Railway finals day round-up

First for sport
First for sport

First ever RBA Friendship Cup win for club

Rugby Railway Bowls Club


The recently held Rugby Rail Bowls Club finals day rounded off a most successful season, which included the winning of the RBA Friendship Cup competition for the first time in the club’s near 100-year history. At a very well attended and catered for event, the cheese and port flowed freely with the following hard fought competition outcomes:

Club Handicap – a well matched game between two seasoned bowlers saw Bruce Truman overcome Bill Wragg by 25-18.

Stan Bullock – this event for previous competition non-winners provided the closest of games with Mike Grange just pipping Dadge Moore to the post by 21-20.

Ladies’ Two Woods – ever reliable and consistent Mary Gollop pulled out a splendid win against Club Captain, Vanessa Brazier, by 15-8.

Men’s Championship – rounding off his welcome return to the Club, Dave Mobbs powered his way to Championship success 21-7 against the ever developing John Kerr.

Ladies’ Championship – making it the truly outstanding achievement of four years in row, Vanessa Brazier rounded off her memorable year by winning the Ladies’ Championship. beating the hard trying Gina Sharpe by 21-17.

Men’s Two Woods – with both bowlers displaying great stamina in their second final of the day, Bruce Truman needed to display all his skill and experience in beating one of the Club’s fast improving bowlers Mike Grange.

Ned Manson – this competition for the Club’s more mature bowlers (which is nearly all of them) saw Mick Moore disregard his last season’s disappointments of ‘nearly wins’ to beat a determined and hard playing bowler in Chilly Entwistle 21-11.

Pairs and Triples – after weeks of intense struggle the final saw Wendy Baxter and Dave Commons beat Josie Banks and Pete Lewis 26-11 in the Mixed Pairs event. Similarly more hard competition resulted in Vanessa Brazier and Pete Lewis coming up winners against Alan Longworth and Bruce Truman in the club’s drawn Pairs, 23-14. And in the final of the Triples competition, Alec Gallimore, Trevor Jones and Mick Hill pulled out all the stops to beat Anita Wasson, Mary Gollop and Alex Arbuthnott 13-2.