CYCLING: Record entry in Rugby RCC’s open time trial

Rugby RCC Open winner Matt Bottrill with Rugby RCC Chairman Peter Wright
Rugby RCC Open winner Matt Bottrill with Rugby RCC Chairman Peter Wright

Bottrill vest over ten mile course

Rugby RCC Open

There was a record entry of 150 competitors for Rugby RCC’s open time trial, held last Saturday on the local A45-based course between Thurlaston and Ryton.

The winner was the pre-event favourite Matt Bottrill from Coalville in Leicestershire who recorded a time of 19 mins 3 secs for the 10 mile course, although a strong wind on the outward leg meant that he was never going to beat the course record of 18-25 which he set in last year’s event.

He was closely followed by Kenilworth’s Matt Clinton in 19-10, with Jack O’Neil from Westwood Heath, Coventry, in third place with a 20-12.

Highest placed Rugby rider was Rugby RCC’s Simon Bayliss who recorded a time of 21-30 for 15th place.

As ever, it was a well supported event, with two riders travelling from Glasgow, while the weather stayed sunny, despite the days before and after delivering rain.

Rugby RCC

Course: K3/13.6 Napton

The annual visit to the Napton hilly course saw another win for Matt Clinton, but he was 47 seconds slower than the course record he set last year.

There was a strong breeze which took the edge off some riders’ times, although it was a pleasant, sunny evening. The 1-in-7 climb out of Priors Marston demands low gears and a high power-to-weight ratio, suiting 16-year-old Ben Atkinson, who went on to win the handicap.

Results: Matt Clinton 30-12, Ryan Kenworthy 32-28, Simon Hall 33-09, Jonathan Cottingham 34-51, Adrian Tayles 35-30, Dave Elliott 35-37, Peter Wright 36-32, Dean Mason 36-54, Luke Pugh 36-54, Ben Atkinson 37-20, Phil Byrne 37-26, Roman Matusiak 37-37, Richard Wayman 37-51, Phil Scott 37-58, Peter Timmins 38-15, Rob Stilgoe 38-16, Sean Shields 39-02, Greg Ashley 39-31, Brian Haycock 40-03, Dave Gunby 41-06, Jason Hardwick 41-51, Kate Vanloo 42-21, Paul Thurman 42-38, Keith Hirons 42-42, Angus Gordon 42-58, Jason Baggett 43-02, Kevin Loydall 43-18, Eric Burke 43-49, Tony Johnson 43-55, Chris Lodge 44-49, Simon Brand 45-19, Jack Bayliss 46-25, John Brothers 51-18, Stuart Sykes DNF.

Club Handicap: Ben Atkinson 30-05, Jack Bayliss 30-10, Luke Pugh 32-09.

Private Entries: Simon Law 36-18