CYCLING: Trophy time for Rugby RCC

Rugby RCC winners with their silverware
Rugby RCC winners with their silverware

Another successful season with over 1,000 rides

The winners (from left): Sean Shields (Best Improver), Lewis Jones (Hill Climb and Best-all-rounder), Simon Bayliss (Points competition and 10 & 25 mile awards), Anne Portsmouth (Best Lady Competitor Overall), Peter Wright (Best Veteran based on age-related standard times) and Ben Atkinson (Best Club Member on handicap and Best Junior rider).

Rugby Racing Cycling Club held its annual awards night on Friday, where trophies were presented to the 2015 season winners. They included Sean Shields, Lewis Jones, Simon Bayliss, Anne Portsmouth, Peter Wright and Ben Atkinson.

The event, held at the Masonic Hall, was well attended and marked another successful season where for the third consecutive year the club achieved the highest rider participation of any cycling club in the Midlands Division, with over 1,000 rides.