GAELIC FOOTBALL: Rugby Gaels celebrate 20th anniversary

Players past and present gather for awards presentations

Friday, 22nd November 2019, 11:57 am
Player of the Year Ryan Ward receiving his award from Gaels all time great Kevin Wynne

The Rugby Gaels GAA Club celebrated their 20th anniversary last week in the Rugby Railway Club in Hillmorton. Club chairman Mick Treacy welcomed players and committee members from past and present to the venue.

A number of awards were handed out during the evening’s celebration. Ryan Ward was voted Club Player of the Year. This award was presented by one of the Gaels best ever players, Kevin Wynne. Steven Clarke was given the 2019 Club Man of the Year by club legend Séan Quigley. Freddie Stephenson was handed the Young Player Award by his grandfather and founding member PJ Treacy.

Manager Paul McGrath recognised the contribution of Ryan Ward and Steven Clarke to the organisation of the team with a special award. The final award is named after a dearly-departed club member, Nicola Biggins, who died of cancer at a young age. The Nicola Biggins Trophy was awarded to Honorary Club President Eddie McGlinchey, who has been both a supporter and sponsor of the Rugby Gaels throughout the club’s 20 year history. The evening was also a chance to remember members who have passed away.

Young Player of the Year Freddie Stephenson receiving the Sean Quigley Plate from his grandfather and founding member PJ Treacy

The entertainment was provided by the Paper Street Soap Company, whose drummer, Pat Grady, lined out regularly for the Gaels this season. The band were suitably attired in Gaels’ jerseys from past seasons.

Steve Clark and Ryan Ward with their Contribution Awards, with manager Paul McGrath (centre)
Eddie McGlinchey with the Nicola Biggins Award with Nigel McGlinchey, flanked by Vice Chairman Neil Merrigan (left) and Chairman Mick Treacy
Club Man of the Year Steve Clarke receiving his trophy from Sean Quigley