SPORTS AWARDS: Send in your nominations now!

Last year's Young Team of the Year from Rugby Town Girls FC Under 15s
Last year's Young Team of the Year from Rugby Town Girls FC Under 15s

Ten categories to honour most dedicated and talented sports people

Who will be a winner in Rugby’s 2015 Sports Awards?

Nominations are now open, seeking worthy winners in all ten categories, which recognise the borough’s most dedicated and talented sports people.

If you know someone who spends many hours coaching or volunteering in a sports club whose work deserves to be highlighted, or a successful individual who is excelling in their sport, or a team that has had a great year, then please don’t let them miss out.

This year also sees the introduction of a new award to honour the Young Sports Person of the Year, for whom 2015 will have been very special.

Open to young people aged 18 and under it will recognise outstanding achievement as well as involvement and commitment to their club and sport.

Also for under 18s, the Excellence in Sport awards will again reward youngsters who compete at national or international level.

Ten winners will receive £100 towards training or equipment.

Organised by Rugby Borough Council and supported by the Rugby Advertiser and Rugby FM, 2016 will mark the 21st presentation of the annual awards.

All entries will be judged by a panel and those shortlisted will be invited to attend the award ceremony at the Benn Hall on March 9.

The categories are:

The Mark Gallagher Memorial Award for Coach of the Year; Club of the Year; The Unsung Hero Volunteer; Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year, Lifetime Achievement; The Simon Warwood Memorial Award for Young Team of the Year; Young Volunteer of the Year and Young Sports Person of the Year.

Nomination forms can be picked up from the Rugby Borough Council reception at the Town Hall or downloaded by visiting

Alternatively you can request a nomination form by emailing or calling 01788 533749.

The deadline for entries is Friday, January 8.

The awards cover dedication and achievements between January 1 and December 31, 2015 and juniors are classed as 18 and under on August 31, 2015.