TRIATHLON: End of year awards

Rugby Advertiser
Rugby Advertiser

Rugby Triathlon Club

Rugby Tri Club held their annual dinner, dance and awards presentation. In a very well supported event it was time to applaud the winners and look forward to next year. It promises to be a great year, with more people than ever racing and a large portion stepping up to the Ironman distance, with eight making the trip to the Canaries to participate in Ironman Lanzarote, the hardest Ironman in the world.

The award winners were:

Men’s Olympic: Open 1 Lawrence Webb, 2 Anthony Smith, 3 Greg Ashley. Handicap: 1 Mike Smallwood, 2 Tony Johnson, 3 Paul Meigh. Novice: 1 Anthony Smith.

Women’s Olympic: Open: 1 Ali Moult, 2 Nichola Smith, 3 Pam Batchelor. Handicap: 1 Bev Masterman. Novice: 1 Nichola Smith.

Men’s Middle Distance: Open: 1 Rod McGowan, 2 Phil Scott, 3 Ross Wearing. Handicap: 1 Tony Johnson, 2 Garry Haynes, 3 Paul Askquith-Ellis.

Women’s Middle Distance: Open and Novice: 1 Naomi Leugs.

Men’s Long Distance: Open: 1 Rob Riddell, 2 Peter Satchwell, 3 Keith Edwards.

Women’s Long Distance: Open: 1 Emma Richards.

Men’s Sprint: Open: 1 Tom Greeves, 2 Lawrence Webb, 3 Keith Edwards. Handicap: 1 Greg Ashley, 2 Ross Wearing, 3 Derek Hoyle. Novice: 1 Anthony Smith, 2 Stephen Brooks.

Women’s Sprint: Open: 1 Sally Boon, 2 Amy Sarkies, 3 Christa Morris. Handicap: 1 Josie Goodwin, 2 Sharon McGowan, 3 Lea Mitchell. Novice: 1 Lea Mitchell.

Captain’s Award for Triathlete of the Year: Rob Riddell.

First Time Iron Men: Russ Cager, Emma Richards

Ross Wearing, the Club Captain presented the Captain’s Trophy to Rob Riddell. Rob underwent a serious hip operation at the start of the year. Most people would have retired from the sport, but not Rob. After months of rehab and hard training, Rob competed in Ironman Barcelona and recorded a stunning 10-hour Ironman, which gave him the quickest Ironman in the club this year.

On Sunday, the club sent a large contingent to Keyworth to compete in the Turkey Trot half marathon. It’s one of the most popular events on the calendar, with over 1,000 entries. Honorary member Hywel Davies had a superb run coming home in 5th.

Results: Hywel Davies 1.15.38; Greg Ashley 1.28.32; Rod McGowan 1.32.49; Phil Gatley 1.35.49; Ross Wearing 1.43.14; Adrian James 1.47.36; Tony Johnson 1.49.20; Sharon McGowan 1.48.54.