Small-scale racing is so big on excitement

editorial image

JUNIORS from the Rugby Radio Control Stockcar Club gathered to compete for the annual Junior Challenge Trophy last Friday, writes Tom Collins.

Eleven members aged 16 and below arrived at Rogers Hall, Hillmorton, hoping to win the title. Included in the line-up were current two-time National Junior and defending Junior Challenge Trophy Champion, Jonathan Hartley, and the recently crowned World Junior Champion, Stuart Clarke. It was a very competitive field.

Starting in 2008, the Junior Challenge Trophy was set-up to give junior members of the club a chance to battle amongst themselves for top honours.

Unlike other championships, it is run using the handicap system. This allows lower graded racers that extra incentive to taste victory while creating more of a challenge for the higher graded drivers. It gives the championship a more exciting and competitive edge, creating a very even playing field.

The racers battled over three qualifying heats where their total lap scores were accumulated. The main aim of 1/12th scale oval racing is to tot-up as many laps around the track as you can in five minutes.

The top eight drivers in the standings qualified for the final where the winner claims the Junior Challenge Trophy.

The final race was highly competitive. The racing was fast and bumpers flew in as drivers pushed their competitors wide to fight for track position.

It was virtually impossible from a spectator’s point of view to have the slightest inkling of who was leading. This year’s was the closest yet.

The club would like to congratulate everyone who took part in the 2011 staging of the Junior Challenge Trophy. It would like to also thank everyone who hand a part to play in making the event happen and the success it continues to be.

Rugby Stockcar Club is one of several clubs in the UK that race 1/12th radio control stoc cars. The cars are based on Brisca F1 Stockcars that compete nationally and also in Holland.

n If anyone is interested in the club, race meetings occur every Friday evening at Rogers Hall, Hillmorton, from 7pm. You can also make contact by visiting the website at

Final positions: 1st Alex Montague, 2nd Scott Darvill, 3rd Maisie Fletcher, 4th Will Brown, 5th Max Harding, 6th Stuart Clarke, 7th Matt Brown, 8th Leighton Holroyd.

Jonathan Hartley, Joe Fletcher and Stephanie Collins suffered a few technical problems with their cars in the heats and failed to make the final.