Volley good show by local players

editorial image

Homegrown players featured prominently in the 2013 Rugby Evening Classic, which was held at Rugby Lawn Tennis Club.

109 entries were received in 10 different events with players of all ages travelling from Gloucestershire, Nottinghamshire, Worcestershire, Middlesex, Leicestershire and Northamptonshire to join Warwickshire players to compete in this LTA approved Grade 4 tournament.

35 players from Rugby competed really well and with great enthusiasm to help ensure a successful event and some great tennis; indeed over half of the events were won by local players.

The 8U event was won by Rugby player Lukas Ouchouche who beat James Farman from Virgin Active 10-8 in the final. The Girls 8U was also won by a Rugby player, Samantha Delleman, who beat Katie Rose to take the trophy.

Local boy, Matthew Irish, won the 9U Boys event playing very determined tennis to beat William Freke from Alcester in a closely fought match 5-7 7-3 7-2. Matthew then returned later in the week to compete in the 10&U event and continued his great form to win again beating Daniel Fishbourne from Worcestershire 4-1 4-0 in the final.

The 9U and 10U Girls events were round robins. The 9U was won by Deni Smith from Leicestershire with Ellys Pollon, also from Leicestershire, taking the 10U Girls trophy, Rugby member May-Ling Turner played well to be runner up in the 10U.

Lilia Boukikova from Leicestershire won the 12U Girls event beating Charlotte Russell from Gloucestershire in the final. Lucy Eaton from Rugby won the consolation event.

The Boys 12U event was won by Ben Stuchbury from Rugby. He played very consistent, confident tennis in the semi final and in the final where he beat Arran Trainor who conceded when Ben was winning 4-0 1-0. Ben was also in the 14U final where he lost out to Richard Harrison 4-2 4-2. Zak Johnson played well to win the consolation event.

The Mens event was also won by a Rugby LTC member, Gareth Davies, who beat Paul Richmond 6-1 6-2 in the final. The consolation event was won by Edward Bradford.

Congratulations to all the Rugby winners. Many thanks go to Kathryn Heathcote, Natalie Meek, Graeme Baker, Brian Heathcote, Kaye Noble, Sam Barnes, Harry Brignal, Gareth Davies and Michelle Stuchbury for their invaluable help.